11.5.1 Thermodynamic Processes

There are four kinds of thermodynamics processes that occur frequently in practical situations, namely:

Isobaric:          constant pressure       (\displaystyle {{W}_{{ON}}}=-p\Delta V )

Isochoric:        constant volume          (\displaystyle {{W}_{{ON}}}=0 )

Isothermal:      constant temperature  (\displaystyle \Delta U=0 )

Adiabatic:        zero heat transfer       (\displaystyle Q=0 )

The tables below summarize the signs of the terms in the first law for the different processes.


Let’s look at each of them in detail in the following sections.

[1]The internal energy must increase since p is constant and V has increased, and \displaystyle pV=nRT .

[2] same logic as that for isobaric expansion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s